Visa Application
Visa Application

Foreign nationals entering Korea are required to have a valid passport and a Korean visa issued by the Korean embassy or consular offices in their country. However, citizens from many countries are now permitted visa-free entry for a limited period under certain conditions. In order to check whether you are allowed to enter Korea without visa issuance and for other requirements, please contact a Korean embassy or consular office in your country or visit the following websites to confirm.

K-ETA will be temporarily exempted to the 22 countries/regions listed below starting from April 1, 2023 to December 31, 2024, as part of a plan to support the revitalization of the tourism industry in relation to commemorating 「Visit Korea Year (2023 ~ 2024)」. Kindly note, if a traveler who is eligible for K-ETA temporary exemption wants to apply for K-ETA to receive benefits such as not having to submit an arrival card upon entry, he/she may apply for K-ETA and pay the fee.
*Previously approved K-ETA will remain valid until its expiry date.
Countries/regions eligible for K-ETA temporary exemption (as of April 1, 2023)
Asia Hong Kong, Japan, Macao, Singapore, Taiwan
Americas Canada, USA (including Guam)
Europe Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Spain, Sweden, UK
Oceania Australia, New Zealand

K-ETA for participants from visa waiver and visa-free countries

K-ETA is an online electronic travel authorization that visa-free foreign visitors need to obtain prior to arrival to Republic of Korea. From April 1, 2022, K-ETA application is open to nationals from 96 countries. Please apply for K-ETA at least 72 hours before departure.

To learn more about K-ETA, please see here.

50 Eligible Countries for K-ETA
*temporary exemption
Asia (3) Guam*, Palau, Singapore*
Americas (9) Barbados, Dominica, Guyana, Mexico, Nicaragua, Saint  Kitts-Nevis, Saint  Vincent  and  the  Grenadines , USA*, Venezuela
Europe (37) Albania, Andorra, Holy  See, Ireland, Malta, Monaco, San  Marino, Slovenia, UK*, Greece, Netherlands*,  Denmark*,  Germany*, Latvia,  Romania,  Luxembourg, Lithuania,  Belgium*,  Bulgaria,  Cyprus,  Sweden*,  Spain*, Slovakia,  Estonia, Austria*,  Italy*,  Czech  Republic,  Croatia,  Portugal,  Poland*,  France*,  Finland*, Hungary,  Norway*,  Switzerland, Liechtenstein,  Iceland
Oceania (1) New  Caledonia
46 for K-ETA Additional Eligible Countries (from Apr. 1st, 2022)
*temporary exemption
Asia (8) Malaysia, Bahrain, United  Arab  Emirates, Oman, Israel, Kazakhstan, Qatar, Thailand
Americas (20) Guatemala, Dominican  Republic,  Bahamas,  Brazil,  Saint Lucia,  Suriname,  Haiti,  Antigua  and  Barbuda,  El  Salvador,  Uruguay, Jamaica,  Chile, Costa  Rica,  Colombia,  Trinidad  and  Tobago,  Canada*, Argentina,  Honduras,  Paraguay,  Ecuador
Europe (5) Turkey, Russia, Montenegro, Bosnia  and Herzegovina, Serbia
Oceania (5) Nauru, Marshall  Islands,  Fiji,  Tuvalu,  Australia*
Africa (8) Republic  of  South  Africa,  Lesotho,  Morocco,  Mauritius,  Botswana, Seychelles, Eswatini, Tunisia
16 Countries Currently Suspended for the K-ETA

Temporary suspension measures have been applied to 16 countries/regions* that have a visa-waiver or visa-free entry program with the Republic of Korea as of April 1, 2022.

*temporary exemption
Asia (7) Macao*,   Brunei   Darussalam,   Saudi   Arabia,   Japan*,   Kuwait, Taiwan*, Hong  Kong*
Americas  (3) Grenada, Panama, Peru
Oceania (6) New  Zealand*,  Micronesia,  Samoa,  Solomon  Islands,  Kiribati, Tonga

Visa for participants from visa-required countries

Please direct any questions regarding entry to Korea and quarantine requirements to your nearest Korean Embassy or Consulate, as the terms and conditions may vary.

Invitation letter for visa application
An official invitation letter will be sent by ICDERS 2023 upon request. This personal invitation is intended to facilitate travel and visa arrangements for registered participants. Visa applications are the sole responsibility of participants. After completing registration, in-person participants may request a letter of invitation at My Page.